Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Generating Steam Heat radio show 26.05.15

After last weeks psych heavy show, we got back to our roots this week with some great punk rock, indie pop and post punk.

Since the show began, we have been playing a lot of new bands featuring women in their ranks as well as female solo artists and this week was no exception. The amount of great music out there made by women has inspired us to put together a two part show, the self-explanatory ‘Rebel Girls’, which will air over the next two weeks. In the meantime, enjoy show number nine… 

The Playlist and some notes:

Great Cynics-North Street (From the Specialist Subject Records album ‘I Feel Weird’ 2015)

Colour Me Wednesday-Shut Up (Kingfisher Blues 7’’ 2014)

NOFX-Urban Campers (From the Fat Wreck Chords soundtrack album ‘Home Street Home’ 2015)

Lee Ranaldo-Waiting on a Dream (From the Matador Records album ‘Between the Times and the Tide’ 2012)

Rocket From The Crypt-Pressure’s On (From the Bacteria Sour Records RFTC/Bloodthirsty Butchers split 7’’ 1994)

The Hated-Hey Mr (From the Vermin Scum Records 7’’ EP ‘No More We Cry’ 1985)

PJ Harvey-The River (From the Island Records album ‘Is This Desire?’ 1998)

Mr Clit And The Pink Cigarettes-Lets Kill Ourselves (From the Unsane Asylum Records EP ‘Tastes Great’ 2012)

Get the Mr Clit And The Pink Cigarettes EP for free via the Unsane Asylum Records Bandcamp page.

Joanna Gruesome-There Is No Function Stacy (From the Fortuna Pop album ‘Peanut Butter’ 2015)

The Fireworks-Let You Know (From the Shelflife Records album ‘Switch Me On’ 2015)

Trash Kit-Medicine (From the Upset! The Rhythm Records album ‘Confidence’ 2014)

Judge-Warriors (From the Revelation Records album ‘Bringin’ It Down’ 1989)

Hard Skin-New Age (From the No Future Records Hard Skin/Fucked Up split 7’’ 2007)

Blitz-Solar (Future Records 7’’ 1983)

Ash-5am Eternal (B side of the Infectious records 7’’ ‘Angel Interceptor’ 1995)

Wire-Shifting (From the Pink Flag Records album ‘Wire’ 2015)

Feral Five-Invisible (From the self released 12’’ EP ‘3D’)

Ramones-Slug (From the expanded version of the Sire Records album ‘Rocket To Russia’ 1977)

The Stranglers-Nice ‘n’ Sleazy (From the United Artists Records album ‘Black And White’ 1978)

Gentleman Jimmy Tees surprise after show additional vinyl meltdown track…

The Pop Group-We Are Time (From the Radar Records Album ‘Y’ 1979)

Download the show as an MP3 here.

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Generating Steam Heat radio show 19.05.15

Show number eight mixes up some new psych bands recommended by the head honcho of Facebooks Vinyl Club along with some of our own garage punk choices and the usual mix of old and new tunes…

The playlists and some notes:

Les Big Byrd-Indus Waves (From the A Records album ‘They Worshiped Cats’ 2014)

Ramones-Making Monsters For My Friends (From the Radioactive Records album ‘Adios Amigos’ 1995)

Sonic Youth-Sugar Kane (From the DGC Records album ‘Dirty’ 1992)

Jenn Fiorentino–Of Flesh & Blood (From the self released album ‘From Darkness to Light’ 2013)

More Jenn Fiorentino Propagandhi covers here.

Hot Lunch-Killer Smile (From the Who Can You Trust Records album ‘Hot Lunch’ 2013)

MC5-Looking at You (From the Easy Action Records compilation album ‘The Fabulous Rachel Moss Album’ 2008)

We talked about the great live video of the MC5 playing this tune. Here it is...

The Wailers-Out of Our Tree (Etiquette Records 7’’ 1965)

DMZ-Mighty Idy (From the Sire Records album ‘DMZ’ 1978)

Cockney Rejects-Bad Man (EMI Records 7’’ 1980)

The trailer for the ace Cockney Reject documentary 'East End Babylon'...

King Gizard and the Lizard Wizard-I’m In Your Mind (From the Flightless Records album ‘I’m In Your Mind Fuzz’ 2014)

Warpaint-I’ll Start Believing (Rough Trade Records digital single 2015)

Moon Duo-Wilding (From the Sacred Bones Records album ‘Shadow Of The Sun’ 2015)

Courtney Barnett-Kims Caravan (From the Milk Records album ‘Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit’ 2015)

Worries-Since Then (From the self released album ‘Houses, Gardens’ 2015)

Psychedelic Furs-All of this & Nothing (From the CBS Records album ‘Talk, Talk, Talk’ 1981)

Gentleman Jimmy Tees surprise after show additional vinyl meltdown track…

Teardrop Explodes-Treason (It’s Just a Story) (Zoo Records 7’’ 1980)

Download the show as an MP3 here.