Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Generating Steam Heat radio show 18.07.17

On this weeks show we were joined by the organiser and all seeing eye of the Sea Change Music Festival, Rupert Morrison.

In only it’s second year, Sea Change has already established itself as a vital stop off point for lovers of the eclectic; featuring indie rock and pop, experimental, singer songwriter, psych and avant garde artists from all over the world playing across a variety of venues in Totnes, Devon, UK over the August bank holiday.

Rupert selected a set by artists playing this years festival, giving a great over view of what to expect at Sea Change 2017.

The playlist and some notes:

Aldous Harding-Party (From the 4AD Records album ‘Party’ 2017)

JAMBINAI-Wardrobe (From the Bella Union Records album ‘A Hermitage’ 2016)

Massayoshi Fujita-Swallow Flies High In The May Sky (From the Erased Tapes Records album ‘Apologues’ 2015)

Girl Ray-Trouble (Moshi Moshi Records 7’’ 2016)

Chris Forsyth, The Solar Motel Band-Dreaming In The Non Dream (Edit) (No Quarter Records digital single 2017)

Amber Arcades-Changes (Heavenly Records digital single 2017)

Teleplasmiste-A Gift Of Unknown Things (From the House Of Mythology Records album ‘Frequency Is The New Ecstasy’ 2017)

Michael Chapman-Fennario (From the Harvest Records album ‘Wrecked Again’ 1972)

Gulp-Search For Your Love (O Genesis Records 7’’ 2017)

Download the showas an MP3 here.

Saturday, July 15, 2017

Generating Steam Heat radio show 11.07.17

On this weeks show we were joined for the second time by Matthew Rochford from post punk band Council Of Giants

Matthew continues the look at his and his bands influences, taking in dark themed pst punk, goth and indie rock.

Council Of Giants debut EP 'Falling Down' is available here.

Matthews first GSH show is here.

The playlist and some notes:

Radiohead-Black Star (From the Parlophone Records album ‘The Bends’ 1995) 

Killing Joke-Millenium (Butterfly Records 7’’ 1994)

Cradle of Filth-No Time To Cry (From the Abracadaver Records album ‘Live Bait for 
the Dead’ 2002)

Acoustic Ladyland-Road of Bones (From the V2 Records album ‘Skinny Grin’ 2006) 

The Cult-The Wolf (From the Cooking Vinyl Records album ‘Choice of Weapon’ 

New Model Army-Seven Times (From the Attack Records album ‘Between Dog And 
Wolf’ 2013)

Evi Vine-Starlight (From the self released album ‘Give Your Heart to the Hawks’ 

The Mission-Tyranny of Secrets (From the Eyes Wide Shut Records album ‘Another 
Fall From Grace’ 2016)

Yates and Delaney featuring Jo Beth Young-No Country For Old Men (Part Two) 
(From the self released ‘No Country For Old Men’ digital EP 2017)

Black Severn-Edge Of The Frame (From the Lost Border Records digital album ‘Wild 
Interior’ 2017)

Mark Lanegan Band - Nocturne (From the Heavenly Records album Gargoyle, 2017)

Download the show as an MP3 here.

Saturday, July 08, 2017

Generating Steam Heat radio show 04.07.17 (Glam Special)

This week writer and musician Mark Mcstea presented a Glam Rock special featuring old and new bands, rare and hit tracks, covering all things glam from junkshop bands to the genres biggest names.

Mark is an expert in the field, writing about the music for the magazines like Vive Le Rock and 
Louder Than War and playing glam influenced tunes in his own band Star Studded Sham. 

Bovver beat rulez ok!

The playlist and some notes:

Andy Brown-Supersonic (GM Records 7’’ 1975)

T Rex-Telegram Sam (From the Thunderwing Records album ‘Bump ’n' Grind’ 2000)

David Bowie-Hang On To Yourself (From the EMI Records album ‘Bowie Art the Beeb’ 2000)

Jimmy Jukebox-Motorboat (Chattahoochi Records 7’’ 1973)

Ice Cream-Shout It Out (Fontana Records 7’’ 1974)

The Glitter Band-Tell Him (From the Bell Records album ‘Hey!’ 1974)

Hello-Star Studded Sham (Bell Records 7’’ 1976)

Star Studded Sham-seventythree (Digital track 2017)

Bay City Rollers-Saturday Night (Bell Records 7’’ 1973)

Crunch-Lets Do It Again (Young Blood International Records 7’’ 1974)

Arrows-I Love Rock n Roll (RAK Records 7’’ 1975)

Imperial Drag-Boy Or A Girl (Work Records 7’’ 1996)

The Glam Skanks-GLAM - 2016

Angel-Little Boy Blue (Cube Records 7’’ 1974)

Kenny - Heart Of Stone (RAK Records 7’’ 1973)

Sweet-Peppermint Twist (RCA Records 7’’ 1974)

Slade-We’re Really Gonna Raise The Roof (19 Magazine Flexi Disc 7'' 1972)

Download the show as an MP3 here.

Saturday, July 01, 2017

Generating Steam Heat radio show 27.06.17

Making a record breaking third and a half guest appearance on Generating Steam Hear this week is writer, activist, star of stage and screen Rob Hopkins (BA Hons in Post Punk and Indie Pop.) 

Rob has chosen a selection of tunes including some rare live, session and bootleg tracks that in the British music press of yore may well have been called ‘difficult’ or ‘angular’ but as always on #GSHradio, the quality of tuneage comes quality guaranteed...

The playlist and some notes:

The Evil Uses:-Amateur Pro Wrestling (From the Stolen Body Records album ‘Amateur Pro Wrestling’ 2016)

Ulrika Spacek-Victorian Acid (From the Tough Love Records album ‘Modern English Decoration’ 2017)

Mudhoney-Touch Me I'm Sick (Sub Pop Records 7’’ 1988)

The Honeydrippers-Impeach The President (Alaga Records 7’’ 1973)

Orange Juice-Blueboy (Postcard Records 7’’ 1980)

Velvet Underground-Guess I'm Falling In Love (From the bootleg album ‘VU Afterhours Tape 9’ unknown date)

Gang of Four-Damaged Goods (Fast Records 7’’ 1978)

The Rapture-Out Of The Races And Onto The Tracks (From the Sub Pop Records MLP ‘
Out Of The Races And Onto The Tracks’ 2001)

Sleaford Mods-BHS (From the Rough Trade Records album ‘English Tapas’ 2016)

Poison Girls-Jump Mama Jump (From the Small Wonder Records MLP ‘Hex’ 1979)

Ciccone Youth-Third Fig (From the Blast First Records album ‘The Whitey Album’ 1989)

Can-Turtles Have Short Legs (Liberty Records 7’’ 1971)

The Fall-Leave The Capitol (Unreleased live version)

Killing Joke-Malicious Boogie (John Peel Session track 17.10.79) 

Theatre of Hate-Propagandha (Ministry of Broadcast) (From the Burning Rome Records 12’’ ‘Do You Belive In The Westworld’ 1982)

Omni-Plane (From the Trouble In Mind Records album ‘Deluxe’ 2016) 

Gnod-Real Man Killing (From the Rocket Records album ‘Just Say No To The Psycho Right-Wing Capitalist Fascist Industrial Death Machine’ 2017)

Little, Big-Lalita (Unreleased demo track 1994)

Download the show as an MP3 here.